Ashley Shellhause

I have always been interested in representing information visually.  We have maps and graphs that show different types of information (elevation, population density, temperatures).  For this series of work, I knew I wanted to try to show visually something non-visual.  I decided to combine a few of my favorite things: genetics, horses, and art.  Each gene is represented in the paintings by a different pattern, and each painting is accompanied by a drawing of what the horse would actually look like.

My inspirations for this show were all color or pattern based.  I’m attracted to patterns, especially those that can be stretched or repeated to create a large field.  The patterns I used her came from a wide variety of places.  Two of them came from the Alhambra in Spain, one of them was inspired by the resurrection ferns I observed in the Florida Everglades.  I’m also attracted to colors and color combinations. Sources for my color palettes are sunsets, sunrises, and other paintings .  Some sets of color have their own mood and sense of space.  I like to recreate those and sometimes experiment with one of the colors.

Visit Ashley’s website www.ashleyshellhause.com

Leave a Reply

